100 POSTS!

The Social Paralegal (TSP) has covered numerous legal topics and developments ranging from bylaws to international entities commenting on Canadian laws. This post will provide a brief recap of some of the most interesting pieces with key words for searches (underlined) and links to some of the pieces.

Paralegal Profession

One of my favourite pieces “I’m a Paralegal but I’m Not Rachel Zane” outlines what the paralegal profession entails. Many individuals were shocked to learn the difference between Canadian and American paralegals. Have you read the piece yet? If not here’s a link: http://tinyurl.com/pw4wsnu. In addition to this piece there were multiple pieces regarding the paralegal scope of practice and debunking legal myths. TSP also focused on consumer rights, landlord tenant issues and summary conviction matters.

Collaborations

Another much-loved piece was my collaboration with Child, Youth Worker student Ms. Poonia. Ms. Poonia helped me examine the issue of youth delinquency and where the problem lies. This piece provoked significant discussion and enlightenment among readers: http://tinyurl.com/p25ebog. A second collaboration I enjoyed working on was with a police officer who helped identify issues faced by victims of domestic violence and what they should expect when pursuing a legal action.

Legal Developments

Some controversial pieces include the Bill C-24 Citizenship post, Bill C-51 Anti-terrorist Bill and the “Bare With Us” piece regarding women’s rights. There were also pieces addressing: the new Sex-Ed curriculum, Instagram pictures, Facebook legal complexities and the impact of social media in the legal realm. TSP analyzed the legalities of new phone apps and methods to protect yourself from having your personal information misconstrued via social media. These pieces continue to provoke discussion among readers on Facebook and WordPress.

Personal Favourites

A piece that is very close to my heart is my post “Mental Health: It’s Not What You Think”. Many individuals are impacted by mental health issues and unfairly live with stigmatization. Mental health is far more complex than one may think and this post explains just that from a legal perspective. Make sure you give it a read! http://tinyurl.com/o5sevq6 .

Everyone is familiar with the term “FHRITP” but I put a twist on the term and explored the legalities of misbehaviour in the public eye while working for a well- known firm http://tinyurl.com/kvxny6t .

Finally, although American dramas are exhilarating to watch they often do not reflect the Canadian justice system. The objective of this piece was to counter popular misconceptions of what the Canadian judicial system entails http://tinyurl.com/l4cxfce.

I’d love to hear from you! What were some of your favourite TSP posts? What do you like about TSP? What would you like to see more of on TSP? Share your thoughts in the comments!

Help TSP celebrate by sharing some of your favourite posts on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram!

Thank you readers for your consistent support via comments, likes and shares! Your efforts have helped TSP reach 400+ likes on Facebook, 50+ WordPress subscribers, almost 100 followers on Twitter and 250+ followers on Instagram!!

Follow TSP on WordPress, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

4 comments

  1. My favourite posts are definitely all the ones that relate to mental health of course; that should not be a surprise.

    One that particularly stands out right now is your post about legal changes in traffic laws – I recently heard on the radio that you are now to treat tow trucks the same as emergency vehicles, as in slow down and move over to let them pass when their lights are flashing…information which I already knew due to your post! It was refreshing to know that I was up to date on current changes in laws that I normally wouldn’t have had a clue about otherwise.

    The following are some posts I liked in particular: Obesity being a disability, Facebook being used as evidence, the sexual assault charge on a politician for being intimate with his mentally ill wife, mental health workers and cops working together in Hamilton, reporting child abuse if there is a chance of being sued, explaining the role of a paralegal and how they can assist you and contrasting Canadian and American laws via a popular show…

    What I loved about these was they addressed a large spectrum of issues that the law has an impact on. They are also informative for a layman who does not understand legal terminology and most importantly – at least to me – they forced me to really think and reconsider how I view particular situations. I loved how you would always consider varying perspectives and address the costs and benefits of both sides from a neutral point of view. I really have learned a lot from your posts and look forward to reading more down the road!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thank you so much for your insight and kind words!
      You’d be surprised by how many legal professionals are also unaware of the differences between the American and Canadian justice systems. I can see why mental health pieces would resonate with you and I will continue to discuss the topic as it requires discussion and knowledge. Also, providing a neutral perspective is essential for TSP as readers should form their own opinions based on the materials not be swayed to support a particular piece. It is humbling to hear that you have learnt a lot from my pieces as that is the reason I write them. I want to inform the public and make information accessible.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. You are in fact, my top commenter. Thank you!

      Like

  2. You’ve got great content so its hard to choose any particular favorite posts.

    Nonetheless, I really enjoyed the article, “Canadian Reality vs American Dramas”. It dispels a lot of misconceptions surrounding the Canadian legal system, which to be honest, I have been a victim to myself (particularly the point that paralegals in Canada don’t require lawyer supervision).

    I also thought the fact that you write about contemporary issues surrounding technology and its relationship with the law is particularly interesting and useful for readers (like myself) to understand the ways that new, innovative businesses are operating in the wider context of our legal system.

    As with Uber, I find myself siding with business interests and the right for individuals to choose whether they want to get in a car with another citizen for compensation, and in the case of Rover, whether they’d like to use their private property as place for parking.

    Anyway, great work with the website. Keep it up Sharan!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Nab! I always enjoy reading your thoughts 🙂 Your kind words truly mean a lot.

      I will continue to strive to bring readers more of the information they seek. It’s great to see legal professionals are also benefitting from TSP.

      Like

Leave a Reply

